Drake’s Views Hits a Billion Streams

Eddy Cue, Tim Cook, Drake, and Larry Jackson

Drake has hit another milestone with his album Views.  He has set a new streaming record and is the first artist to have their album hit a Billion streams on Apple Music.

Apple presented Drake with a huge plaque over the weekend. He accepted the award from Apple CEO Tim Cook, Senior Vice President of Internet Software and Services Eddy Cue, and Apple Music’s head of content, Larry Jackson.

“Thank you to everyone,” Drake wrote on Instagram, before providing a close-up of the commemoration piece.

Adele Goes Diamond

Adele has proven to be a force to be reckoned with.  Her latest album “25” went platinum 10 times, garnering her second album to reach that milestone; which took only 8 months to achieve.  According to the RIAA, Adele’s smash 25 reached diamond status last Thursday (Sept. 22), certifying it for 10 million in sales in the U.S. alone. She received the 10X Platinum plaque on the final night of her six-show stint at Madison Square Garden. 

Her previous album, 2011’s “21″, propelled by hits “Rolling in the Deep” and “Someone Like You,” took almost two years to hit diamond in November 2012.


Lil’ Wayne Gears up for Memoir


Lil Wayne is sharing with fans and the world his behind bars experience in his upcoming memoir Gone Til’ November: A Journal of Rikers Island, which details his time in lock-up.

According to Billboard,  he speaks on a number of issues even citing that he officiated a gay marriage while behind bars.

“I got the Bible and I’m like, we gathered here today,” he writes in the book. “We even had a reception, which everybody brought something for the couple.”

Although it wasn’t an official wedding, Wayne says the event was treated like it was. It even included a festive soundtrack. “Everybody was running about that bitch with headphones listening to the same station,” he writes. “Straight up jamming!” “The shit was too funny,” he writes. “Imagine seeing grown-ass men in jail hanging tissue for wedding decorations…AND one of them is Lil Wayne…Crazy!”

Beyoncé Pays Tribute to Shawty Lo at ATL FORMATION Stop

Image result for formation tour

Beyoncé during her “Formation World Tour” stop in ATL, Queen Bey inserted a portion of Shawty Lo’s hit “Dey Know,” into her dance routine for one of her hits,  “Diva.”  After her routine, Bey kissed her hand and pointed at the sky.

The crowd went into a complete frenzy.  The house was also packed with celebrities including DJ Khaled, who served a DJ of the night, Monica was there with her mother and daughter, T.I., Gucci Mane, Jermaine Dupri, Ludacris, The-Dream, Big K.R.I.T., and Migos to name a few.

Solange Prepares to Release New Album this Friday, “A Seat At the Table”

A Seat at the Table

Solange will release her new album to digital retailers worldwide on Friday, Sept. 30 via Saint Records/Columbia.

The 21-track project,  features appearances from Lil Wayne, Sampha, The-Dream and BJ the Chicago Kid, Q-Tip, Kelly Rowland, Tweet, and more.

A Seat at the Table is described as “a project on identity, empowerment, independence, grief, and healing,” marks Solange’s first full-length album since 2008’s Sol-Angel and the Hadley St. Dreams.

See the tracklisting below.


1. “Rise”
2. “Weary” (Additional vocals blessed by Tweet)
3. “Interlude: The Glory Is in You”
4. “Cranes in the Sky”
5. “Interlude: Dad Was Mad”
6. “Mad” feat. Lil Wayne (Additional vocals blessed by Moses Sumney and Tweet)
7. “Don’t You Wait”
8. “Interlude: Tina Taught Me”
9. “Don’t Touch My Hair” feat. Sampha
10. “Interlude: This Moment” (Additional vocals by Devonté Hynes of Houston, Texas and Lu of Carolina)
11. “Where Do We Go” (Additional vocals blessed by Sean Nicholas Savage)
12. “Interlude: For Us By Us”
13. “F.U.B.U.” feat. The-Dream & BJ the Chicago Kid (Additional vocals blessed by Tweet)
14. “Borderline (An Ode to Self Care)” feat. Q-Tip
15. “Interlude: I Got So Much Magic, You Can Have It” feat. Kelly Rowland & Nia Andrews
16. “Junie”
17. “Interlude: No Limits”
18. “Don’t Wish Me Well”
19. “Interlude: Pedestals”
20. “Scales” feat. Kelela
21. “Closing: The Chosen Ones”